Custom Quilts, Sewing, Mommyhood and general silliness

The New Orleans Quilt

I wanted to create a quilt that had a New Orleans/Mardi Gras feel without being too literal…i.e. green, purple, gold and beads. I ran to my favorite local quilt shop, Strawberry Patches, and begged the assistance of the owner, Suzanne, to help me find the perfect fabrics for my vision. I think she wanted to call the police and have me admitted…but she persevered and hooked me up with the perfect fabrics. I wanted that purple and gold feel with some brown, green and blue undertones. A little mystery and a little gritty-ness…

New Orleans Quilt front

We selected four fabrics for the background: 3 batik fabrics and one quilting weight cotton. The Fleur-de-lis is made with two gold fabrics: one quilting weight cotton and one batik. The darker Gold is used as the binding. The back shows off all the main fabrics in larger scale.

New Orleans Quilt Back

Some detail shots:

Detail of New Orleans Quilt Front

All quilting was completed on my Bernina 440 with my trusty walking foot. Applique is raw-edged to give it an aged feel.

Quilting Detail of New Orleans Quilt Back

This one is headed off to a friend living in New Orleans. As soon as I can get my tush to the post office.

Front Detail

Comments on: "The New Orleans Quilt" (3)

  1. Diane Ruetz said:

    Beautiful. You might need to start “signing” your quilts somehow just like artists do their work!

  2. Beautiful, I have been looking for a pattern for the fluer des lis everywhere … Does anyone sell them? I am brand new to quilting. Your design is awesome!

    • Hi Carol. Thank you so much for your kind words! I took a few different free fleur de lis images and then free-handed a drawing. Then I blew the drawing up on my printer until it was the size I wanted. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

